West Midlands Golf League
Founded 1967

2024 Season gets underway w/c 22nd April

2024 Low handicap band is 3.1 to 7.6, High handicap band is 7.7 to 12.2

2024 WHS notes, revised league rules and new match sheets are available via the downloads area within the resources section of the web site


2024 Diary dates ….

Sunday 1st September – Davenports Salver hosted by South Staffs GC

Sunday 8th September – Lewis Trophy final hosted by Great Barr GC

Sunday 22nd September – Roberts-Levine Trophy final hosted by Moseley GC

About The League

The League is non-profit making. There is an annual subscription fee for each club. The subscription raised is used for administration costs each year. At the AGM each year a full balance sheet is presented to each clubs’ representative.

Administration of the League is fully electronic ie. e-mail, banking system and website. Each zone is administered by a Zone Secretary elected at the AGM by the members. The Zone Secretary is responsible for looking after each zone and updating the web site as necessary with fixtures and results etc. The Committee also comprises in addition to the Zone Secretary a Chairman/Treasurer/secretary.

The West Midlands League was formed in 1967 and originally comprised 24 clubs, 12 additional clubs were later invited to join making a total of 36. The original 24 clubs remain as members today.

The purpose of the League is to promote golf and friendship amongst members of Golf Clubs in the West Midlands and surrounding area through competitive handicap golf.

Should you be interested in joining the League please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange a meeting or to discuss the above in more detail.

The Roberts-Levine Trophy

The top two clubs in each zone, together with the four best 3rd places from the zones move into the knockout stage of the competition. Knockout matches are played Home and away on the same basis as the zone matches. The Final is played over 18 holes at a neutral venue. The winning club is declared West Midlands League Champions of that particular year and is awarded the much coveted Roberts Levine Trophy.

The Lewis Trophy

Recently we have introduced a further knockout competition the Lewis trophy for the two clubs finishing third in each zone but not qualifying for the Roberts Levine trophy together with the clubs finishing fourth in each zone. Knockout matches are also played on a home and away basis with the final being played on a neutral venue. The winners of this knockout competition are awarded the Lewis Trophy.

The Davenports Salver

Each year in August the 36 clubs get together and compete for the Davenports Salver. This is a single day competition with each club providing a team comprising two pairs playing in a fourball better ball format. The collective scores of the two pairs are added together to give the overall team score. The team with the best score on the day wins the Davenports Salver.